The Faces of Tragedy

More Info

Nomination Application 
Due August 31, 2023

Click Here

The Alliance Against Intoxicated Motorists proudly announces the first annual Daniel R. Stafiej Memorial Illinois Drug Recognition Expert of the Year Award. This award is being created and will be awarded in the name of Carol Stream Police Officer Daniel R. Stafiej, in honor of his outstanding contributions to DUI-Drug related enforcement in Illinois. Officer Stafiej was a long-time Drug Recognition Expert (DRE), DRE Instructor, and good friend to AAIM.

A DRE is a police officer trained to recognize impairment in drivers under the influence of drugs other than, or in addition to, alcohol. The DRE uses a standardized twelve-step evaluation process that allows the officer to determine whether the suspect is under the influence of drugs, and to determine the category of drug that is causing the observable impairment. The procedure also allows the officer to rule in or out many medical conditions, illness, or injury which may contribute to or cause impairment. While the DRE procedure’s main objective is DUI enforcement, the procedures have been applied in probation and parole, drugs in the workplace issues, community outreach and other areas where accurately identifying the drug-impaired individual is relevant. Currently, all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Canada, and several other countries around the world participate in the program.

The Illinois DRE-of-the-Year recognition is to a certified DRE who has demonstrated outstanding contribution and commitment to the Illinois DRE program during the calendar year and may be for a single or cumulative contribution. The nominee must be an actively certified DRE in good standing with the State of Illinois DRE program (or was during the nomination period). Nominations are welcome from any people or groups with knowledge of the individual’s contributions. Since the award is to be presented at the AAIM Annual Banquet in October, the qualifying period for the recognition is July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023.

AAIM Home Page

<="" p="">